In the world today, there are five extant species of rhinoceros. The largest is the Indian rhinoceros, also known as the Greater One-Horned Rhino. The smallest is the Sumatran Rhino. The Latin name for Indian rhinos is Rhinoceros unicornis, meaning “one horn” —  should we consider it the modern-day unicorn? The Sumatran Rhino (Dicerorhinus sumatrensis), meanwhile is also known as “hairy rhinoceros” or “Asian two-horned rhinoceros.”